Bizmaker1I was invited to talk to a public crowd in the Fil-Negosyo expo in SM Mega mall a few years ago about how to start and succeed in business. And I happened to mention in that talk what I believe to be the golden rule that any business person (or individual) should follow. Now this saying is as old as the bible itself as this is where it comes from:

“Do unto others what you want others to do unto you.”

Here’s a true story that will prove my point.

A few years back, I had partnered with a local IT Training company to bring in a foreign Software company into the Philippines. (I’m leaving the names out as you will see why in a bit). This was a 60/40 arrangement, I had 40% of the profits but I do not spend a dime. They agreed to have 60% of the profits but would shoulder all the financial requirements (How I did it will be a story for another article).  We needed an IT trainer who was knowledgeable and seasoned enough to head the training program. So I chanced upon the resume of this guy who stood out from the rest. He really wasn’t that senior and he didn’t have that much experience with the particular software but after I had a chance to talk to him, I knew he was the guy. I asked him how much his salary was at the IT company he was working for at that time, kept mental note of it then told him that I would get back to him within the week.

I pushed for him as the man for the job, negotiated a compensation package with the IT Training company and they agreed. Long story short, when I told him he was to report for his new role for head of technical training, the next Monday he was near tears as his income more than tripled.  I had helped him move up.

Soon after, the partnership became a success, project after project we were making good money, but after a year and a half, the IT company had re-organized and the new management had different plans. the partnership was dissolved and the guy that I helped had moved on. Well, at least it was good while it lasted I just said to myself.

Many months later, out of the blue, I get a phone call from an unknown number. I picked it up and wouldn’t you know it, it was him, the guy I helped hire. He was pirated by an even bigger company and wanted to thank me for what I did for him before, and there was one more thing, his Clients from the past wanted him to handle a specific IT training for them. He could easily do it by himself he said, but he just couldn’t do that to me and felt an obligation to bring business to my door.

I asked him how much the deal was and what he needed from me. He said, he’ll only take a small training fee and the rest of the profits will be mine. The deal was for P535,000 and he only took P50,000 for his teaching fees. The project was for next month he said, all I have to do is say yes to it and he would make the necessary arrangements. The project pushed through and several projects more, this time he had repaid me with the same (if not more) prosperity as I had provided him. This is called Reciprocity. And this is why I say in business, the golden rule is: Do unto others as you want others to do for you.

Now, how can you practice the art of Reciprocity in your everyday lives and not just in business? Well, in general, and if you have not yet done so, simply be nice to the people  around you – smile and they will smile back at you, frown and they will move away from you. Help them with something that they need help with without asking for anything in return. Keep doing it until it becomes a part of you and you will see what I mean.

In Business, like life, learn to give first truly and sincerely and somehow,  some way, some day you will receive something too.

Sidebar: Last week, the Philippines was hit by the worst flash flood in more than 40 years. Practice the principle of reciprocity not just in business but as Filipinos. Help those who need it and in turn you will be helped when you need it as well.

Comments
  1. lily says:

    Wow! Very nice article! Thanks Mark for sending your URL in my email. I’ll definitely bookmark your blog.

  2. patty says:

    very inspiring …. a must read 🙂

  3. flor peña says:

    nice article about the golden rule.

  4. hannah eunice diaz says:

    thanks for this article! it amazed me, the power of golden rule rules! 🙂

  5. Wilma says:

    Very inspiring Sir. Kudos! 🙂

  6. alvin palmos says:

    sir sana makabisita ka dito sa iloilo for a seminar you will truly bless many with your message

Leave a Reply

